A New Adventure, A New Curriculum. Part I

styles1236

In August I’m moving abroad to work in a new international school, opening in September. I’m responsible for both the Junior and Senior School so that’s EYFS all the way up to year 13. An exciting but bewildering prospect, It’s difficult to think about where to start! The KS4 & KS5 curriculum is pretty much set by the exam boards so that leaves me with EYFS- KS3, still plenty to be getting on with!

I strongly believe that the curriculum should be devised with all students in mind, not the minority that choose to go on to study GCSE or beyond, however I would love it to be the case that all students could choose GCSE music as an option if they wanted to, not just those that have had the privilege of instrumental tuition outside the classroom. Ultimately though, the goal or purpose of KS3 music isn’t to prepare them for a GCSE it’s so much more important than that.

I want my music curriculum to prepare and enable students to continue making music well beyond their school years. I’d like them to feel confident as musicians, with the ability to sing, perform, create and most of all fully enjoy everything that music is, everything that words can’t express.

I finished my last blog post here with a question…

Musically what are the MOST important things a student needs to know, understand or be able to do (by the end of KS3)?

Since then the ISM have published an assessment and progression framework to support the new National Curriculum for music, available here. It suggests 5 key processes or musical activities:

Singing, playing, improvising, composing and listening.

Maybe I can use these processes to help me focus on some answers to my question and then hopefully I can get on with planning a curriculum.

Feel free to answer the question for me, I could definitely use some help!

One thought on “A New Adventure, A New Curriculum. Part I

  1. Pingback: A New Adventure, A New Music Curriculum. Part II « MyMusicEd

Leave a Reply

